Navina: my first dog sitting experience

Navina_featured imgThe idea of having a dog at home has been living somewhere inside me since I was 11 or 12 years old. So, it’s pretty long time. However, my dad was desperately against this wish, so I was enjoying the company of my 13 years old guard dog – German shepherd, who lived in the courtyard.

Then I moved to another city to study, after that moved to another country to live and after to another one. So my dream remained as a dream for years.

When I moved to Berlin, I found a wonderful website called Pawshake and registered there immediately. For nearly one year there were no requests, so I even managed to forget about this service. But all of a sudden just before Christmas I got a request from Navina’s owner, we discussed all questions and agreed that this lovely dog will move to my place for the weekend.

Navina

Navina is 1.5 years old active and cheerful Golden Retriever. Here I would like to share some tips and suggestions to people who would like to get this breed or who are lucky owners already:

1. It’s obvious, but I must remind once again: it’s a BIG dog! Really big and strong. You have to be ready to hold him when he is pulling, running, jumping and so on.

2. It’s a very active dog, so you have to be ready to spend a lot of time outside: up to 2.5 – 3 hours per day with a lot of activities. If you live in a big city – it’s better to find an off-leash area to be able to let the dog run free.

3. A lot of training is the must. The dog is NOT a child and you can’t treat them as humans. They have to obey and listen to what you ask them to do. If you don’t have time/patience/knowledgе to train your puppy, go to the training school. Educate yourself – read blogs and articles, watch videos. Your life will be much easier if your dog respects you.

I am going to share a lot of thoughts and ideas in other posts, so stay tuned 🙂

Leave a Reply

